Guest Reviews

  • The place is beautiful

    Spent a week here in the end of July and had a wonderful time. The cabin was very comfortable and well stocked. The fishing platforms were very handy. My husband could fish as much as he wanted and I was able to return to the cabin to relax when I wanted.

    The place is beautiful. We look forward to returning again. The charter trips were very well run. Especially enjoyed the halibut and king salmon charters.

    Lyneth, — 26 August, 2017
  • Nothing Beats Alaska Eagle Head!

    We had a great time at Alaska Eagle Head Resort. The cabin was clean and comfortable, the kitchen well stocked with cooking gear, and the fishing is 50 yards away! My wife could fish as much or as little as she wanted, then go back to the cabin and let me fish all I could stand.
    The charters for King and halibut were with a first rate outfit, Russell Fishing. For a great Alaska fishing vacation, nothing beats Alaska Eagle Head.

    M. Hurst, — 13 August, 2017
  • Best Resort Lodge on the Kenai River!!

    Best Resort Lodge on the Kenai River!! This place has been built with pride and it shows.

     

    Alisa M, — 25 July, 2017
  • Absolutely Outstanding!!

    Best place to stay on the Kenai!

    Excellent fishing, outstanding hosts – all in an immaculate park-like setting. Extremely clean and well-kept; excellent for couples and families. Gated entry provides for added privacy.

    The log cabins are – bar none – fantastic, with attention to detail (we stayed in Eagle Nest cabin); peaceful and relaxing setting yet close to town to run errands, if needed.

    Hosts are fantastic – expert in catching fish and they willingly shared their expertise and tricks on how to catch salmon. Private fishing docks, excellent fishing (and excellent fishing gear provided), very relaxing environment. Fish cleaning stations, professional vacuum sealers and freezers. Enclosed pavilion with fireplace (inside) and fire pit (outside) for evening or afternoon “hang-outs”.

    We have been in Alaska for over 25 years and have gone to the Kenai every summer. This is by far the best place we have ever stayed. Only complaint is that we had to return to the “real world” to get back to work!

    AW M., — 24th April, 2017
  • WONDERFUL - HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION!

    Hands down the best place to stay – & we’ve stayed at a few places in the area. It’s a labor of love for Ron & Denise & the property is immaculate. They were great hosts & lovely people. From the booking process to throughout our stay it was outstanding. We’ve had the same fishing guide for years & when I asked him for the best luxury rentals he recommended Eagle Head. Our guide picked us up from the dock out front which is so much easier than meeting at a launch ramp & wonderful for the end of the day not having to drive back to our place. We enjoyed sitting on the dock watching the river – it’s great for fishing too – although we just relaxed in between our day trips. Stayed in The View cabin – just two of us – & loved it. We like to cook & had everything we needed as well as condiments, spices & oils. We were also very lucky to have the whole place to ourselves while we were there. I’m a light sleeper & it was so quiet. This place is great for couples or large groups. The Gazebo is a nice spot to gather if you have a group – or you can sit on your own porch. We travel extensively for business & use VRBO a ton & this place far exceeded our expectations. Ron & Denise were the best hosts we’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting. Can’t wait to return next year!
    Colleen T., — 1st September, 2016
  • Relaxing, Comfortable, and FUN!

    We had the best 10 day vacation at Eagle Head Cabins. Basketball, a golf hole, and fishing on the property along with gorgeous views, outdoor seating and amenities, and wild life made this trip memorable. The cabins were clean and equipped with everything we needed. Ron and Taylor were extremely helpful with fishing tips and helping us fillet and package our fish. Denise was always there to see that our comfort was excellent. The surrounding towns were so fun to explore and it was easy to take day trips into Seward, Kenai, and Anchorage. I was nervous about our children as they are only 3 &1 but they had just as much fun as we did. We WILL be back.
    Em, — 6th August, 2016
  • Best Family Vacation!

    I can’t say enough about our experience at Eagle Head! Our cabin was literally on the river. It was beautiful! The grounds are well kept and had lots of grassy areas for our kids to play in. Our 2 year old twins enjoyed throwing rocks and golfing in the little golf area Ron has set up. Everyone was so nice and friendly with our kids and so helpful! It was so nice my husband could get up in the morning and stay out late fishing right outside our cabin window. I bought leashes for our kids and we would fish while they were safely anchored to the dock. Ron and Denise were so helpful our entire stay, and Ron showed us how to gut and fillet our fish. I was so impressed with the facilities – they have multiple fish cleaning stations, and vacuum packers so we could fillet our fish and vacuum pack them and put them in the freezer right after we caught them – or throw them on the grill. They also have the coolest freezer bags you can buy to bring your fish home. We were causal fishers, as we have small children, and came home with over 50lbs of fish. That was honestly without trying too hard. The cabins are beautiful and well maintained. There are carvings of eagles and bears and moose all over the property. We were there for 9 days and never ran out of things to do. We will definitely be back!
    Brittney S., — 6th August, 2016
  • Great location with comfortable cabins

    Our family of 6- 2 adults and 4 children (17, 15, 13, and 10) stayed here in one cabin while my sister’s family of 4 stayed in another cabin. We couldn’t have enjoyed a better stay. The cabins were clean and comfortable with beautiful views of the river and bald eagles. The kids enjoyed playing basketball and making s’mores in the fire pit. We used the community grill and laundry which were much appreciated. Unfortunately the river was so high, it wasn’t really fishable when we were there, but we tried anyways. Took trips to Soldotna and Seward. Our hosts were so helpful and accommodating. We would definitely recommend staying here and would love the opportunity to go back again!
    Lynette M., Maceo, KY — 25th July, 2016
  • Great Time

    We had a great time at Eagle Head. The cabins are really great and the beds very comfortable. The evenings (which last forever in June) are interesting sitting around the fire pits with people from all over. The wine flowed, and conversation lively, a nice time.

    J. Wagner, — 2 July, 2016
  • Adventure of a life time...

    Absolutely positively the best of the best possible locations to stay in Alaska… And then if your are interested in actually hooking up and “landing” salmons… There is no better place.. The cabins are amazing… Hosts incredible… But the fishing is off the charts…. “Private Dock”…. If you have fished the river… Then you know… During the season it’s wall to wall fisherman…. But not here… And all the gear you can imagine is hanging on the wall.. Ready for you to use and if that’s not enough… Ron is standing by with a life time of experiences to guide you through the process.. And there is Denise… As sweet and charming as a host you could ever imagine… Denise made sure everything was perfect for us upon arrival and throughout our entire stay As previously stated… The best of the best!!!
    T, — 23rd June, 2016
  • Best way to explore Alaska!

    Alaska Eagle Head Resort was not just a place to stay on our Alaska vacation, but they also booked our activities for us for the whole week! I loved that our cabin had a private bathroom, kitchen and a large sitting area with a T.V. to relax in the evenings. They provided all the necessities for cleaning and packing our fish, and even had an outdoor pavilion where we could grill up our fish for dinner! We already want to visit again!
    camree e, — 12th October, 2015
  • Awesome!

    Eagle Head Cabins is one of the best stays we had in Alaska. The log cabin we stayed in was nothing short of amazing. The decor was truly unique yet homey and comfortable. The grounds were terrific and the outdoor meeting gazebo area was outstanding. Ron and Denise, the proprietors were the greatest. The location is right on the Kenai River and the scenery was beautiful. It doesn’t get much better!
    Ed50_13, Johnstown, Colorado — 26th September, 2015
  • EVERYTHING we dreamed it would be!!!

    I grew up fishing the Kenai River every weekend, but had not been there in 30 years. My husband and I were looking for a place on the river that was special and we definitely found it with Ron and Denise at Eagle Head Cabins! I have traveled all over the world and have never had the hospitality that I did with Ron and Denise. They say they will do whatever it takes to make your stay great and they are not kidding! First the cabin we stayed in was the Eagle Perch, which has two bedrooms and places to sleep in the living room. Since it was only my husband and I, we had the choice between a tempurpedic mattress or a pillow top mattress. We chose the pillow top in the loft and our view from our bed was looking right at the Kenai River. The cabin, and their whole resort area, was immaculate….the setting overlooking the river is breathtaking! Having said all that, what truly set this place WELL above any other cabin we have ever stayed in was the hospitality we received from Ron and Denise. Within about 1 minute of meeting them we felt that we had known then forever….and when we left, we felt like we were saying goodbye to our grandparents. They are two very, very special people and we enjoyed every minute with them. The first day we were there, we had booked our own fishing guide on the Kenai and came home empty handed. Ron knew we had been excited about cooking a fresh fish for dinner that night so he took us down to the river and within less than 5 minutes, he had caught our dinner. Not only did he catch our dinner, but he also brought from his house everything we would need to cook it on the grill, and instructed us on how to make the most amazing tasting salmon ever! We ate our dinner in their new outdoor pavilion, which is a nice addition to their establishment as well. Knowing we had not had success on our fishing trip, Ron got on the phone and called someone he trusted would provide us the fishing excursion we were hoping for. We did a fly-in fishing trip the next day, which he booked for us, and we both caught our limit and had a fabulous day. Ron went out of his way during our stay to teach us how to fish, fillet and even helped us process our own fish that we caught right off of his dock. He has everything you would ever need to catch a beautiful salmon from the dock. Before we left, Ron helped my husband pack up our fish to bring home. The next day, having arrived back home in Wisconsin, we received a phone call….from Ron….just checking to make sure we got home OK and that the fish made it in good shape too. Honestly, I could go on and on about Ron and Denise and their resort, but you really just need to experience it first hand. I have told everyone about our time there and how amazing these two are. We were so sad to leave knowing that we had to say goodbye to them…but we rest assured knowing we will be back one day!! I would give Eagle Head Cabins 10 stars if I could.
    KimMike1566, River Falls, Wisconsin — 24th August, 2015
  • Great!!

    Absolutely wonderful cabins!!!! First class hospitality!!! Great fishing set up by Ron!!! We have recommend to some friends already, and we WILL be back! Private and wonderful area beautiful gazebo with a great fireplace. Very clean grounds ,first class equipment.
    waubojeeg, Grand Rapids, Minnesota — 7th August, 2015
  • Sweet Memory

    We feel lucky to find Eagle Head. Our family spent a wonderful time there. The log cabin is very well maintained and decorated nicely. Our hosts, Ron and Denise are so nice and helpful. They made us feel like visiting friends instead of just renting the place. Ron showed my husband and son how to clean the fishes. And I enjoyed talking to Denise every day after our outings. I will definitely recommend to friends.
    Ning P., — 7th July, 2015
  • Amazing Place

    Eagle Head is spectacular, the most beautiful resort on the Kenai river. Wake up grab a cup of coffee walk out of your cabin grab your fishing pole and start fishing. The accommodations are first class all the way, if you’re going to Alaska this place is a must stay.
    Fish On, — 5th February, 2015